Facebook
need advice
11-20-2014, 10:23 PM,
need advice
So I have been practicing with a derby team and am now ready to buy better skates. I am still a beginner still working on a lot to pass the skills test. I am looking for skates and came across surefire rock expressions. I cannot find reviews though. I want a skate that will work for me. I am 220 lbs and was told to look for at least a 92 or 91 wheel. I don't want to upgrade a lot but want it to last. Any tips on what kind of skate to purchase would be awesome.
11-20-2014, 11:45 PM,
RE: need advice
Welcome to the site!

The ROCK boots are decent. Generally comfortable, and they hold up fairly well. The wheels are usable to decent. I have had them, and did real well on them, but have moved on to better. Currently on Cosmic Superfly wheels.

The boots are riveted to the plates, and the rivets will soon need to be replaced with bolts as they loosen up with heavy use.

The plastic ROCK plates suck for us larger people. They bow under any amount of weight, causing foot pain, and terrible handling. Get a metal plate. There are some good choices out there that won't break the bank, and that will hold up.

What are you skating on now?

Boots are one of the most important part of your derby skates. You will spend a lot of time in them, and proper fit is important. Try on boots at the rink if you can. Try others' boots if you can. That will give you a sense of what might work for you.

The second most important decision is the plates. Often overlooked, the plates are the key to skate performance.

Wheels are something that you will end up with multiple sets of. You will buy, sell, and trade to get what you like. It's kind of fun, to be honest. Shades
11-21-2014, 07:29 AM,