Facebook
Art Meet today
12-19-2010, 05:45 PM,
Art Meet today
First the bad news, I skated like I just learned my figures in the Novice B event. I had psyched myself all out in my head, I guess. They delayed our event and the four of us ended up frozen standing around waiting for almost 20 minutes. By the time we got to warmup, I could hardly feel my feet. I actually forgot to finish my last circle and had to go back to finish it. I've never done that before, even in practice. I ended up 4th place out of 4 skaters. Phooey on that.

So, I was very frustrated and mad as hell at myself going into the Subloops event which they called before I even had a chance to skate my Novice B figures. My head was definitely all freaked out over that. Note to self: Remember that they can't start the event without you and put it OUT of your mind and concentrate on what you are skating NOW. I had to rush off the floor and change my skates and get back on the floor to warm up for the Subloop event.

My daughter and I both skated the Subloop event together. That was actually really fun. I wasn't sure if it would feel strange to be skating with her but it turned out to be very cool. There were 6 skaters in the event, one of whom is in our club and who took first at the last meet. Being the stubborn person that I am, I dug in my heels and really put out my best effort after the epic fail on my Novice B figures. I am delighted to report that I placed second out of 6 and my daughter took third behind me. I can't even begin to tell you what a thrill it was for both of us to go up and receive our medals together.

I was absolutely shocked to find out my placement. I figured I was done and ready to pack up and go home but my coach insisted I leave my skates on until the results were posted.