Facebook
Returning after 20+ years
08-17-2015, 11:57 PM,
Returning after 20+ years
I've recently gotten back into roller skating. My son is 10 and my daughter is 5 and they both have taken up skating but they want me to get out there with them. I think I'm too big and too old to be trying to skate anymore but they insist. I'm 6'3 270 lbs. So for the past month I've been taking them to the local skating rink and skating with them. The thing is I haven't skated in over 21 years and felt like I was a complete beginner when I put on the rental skates. Not to mention I fell backwards the first week and frontwards the second. So I decided if I was gonna do this I needed some speed skates. I used to skate an old set riedells, I can't even tell you what model they were. So long story short, I went to the rink and bought a set of Riedell R3s. They seem fine when I'm skating slow keeping with my daughter, but when I skate at a faster rate of speed with my son they just feel like they're bogged down. I think I'm too big for these skates but am on a limited budget which is why I went with them in the first place. Also the wood floor is kinda dirty and the owners never buff it. I was just wondering what do you all think? Am I too old, big to be trying to skate? Do I need better skates or is it just me? I used to skate for many years when I was younger (from 3 years to 16 years old) but it just doesn't feel like it when I get out there now.
We may be getting older but that doesn't mean we have get boring and act out age!
08-18-2015, 11:36 AM,
RE: Returning after 20+ years
Hi Russ! Welcome to Southernskater!

I personally think you are never too old to go roller skating... I roller skated for the first time when I was 34, and got really into it for roller derby, and now at 43 I still skate once or twice a week (unless there is a blizzard! Smile )