SouthernSkater Forums
Learning to artistic skate - Printable Version

+- SouthernSkater Forums (https://southernskater.com)
+-- Forum: Quad Roller Skating (https://southernskater.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Artistic (https://southernskater.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Learning to artistic skate (/showthread.php?tid=340)

Pages: 1 2

Learning to artistic skate - melissalovesbugy - 12-13-2010

I would love to learn artistic skating, is there any resource that is good for a beginner to learn the basics on moves, jumps, etc? I'm not a beginner skater, but need guidance on moves in this area. Any help would be great :-) Excited to try something different!

RE: Learning to artistic skate - Reserector - 12-14-2010

Welcome to Southern Skater. It's good to have you.

I would love to learn artistic skating myself, but there are no coaches in my area. Sad It is difficult to learn without someone with experience to guide and evaluate you.

The governing body is USA Roller Sports or USARS. There site is here http://usarollersports.org/

Sarah posted a link to the rule book and I was able to download it in .pdf format. I have a printed copy on the desk here. It helps to give me an idea of what it is all about.

Give us a little background; how much do you know about artistic skating? Are there any artistic skaters in your area? What do you have as far as skates?

As far as YouTube videos, I would suggest the new series by Joe Enthor. There are also some gurus that post on SkateLog Forums.

RE: Learning to artistic skate - melissalovesbugy - 12-14-2010