First Day of Derby!
So one of the things I like most about forums is being able to go back and look at where you were when you first joined; so I decided to make this thread. I want to make a progress thread so I can track where I am now, and be able to see how I improve or what I'll need to work on. I won't lie, a lot of the purpose is to encourage myself so I can look back and say "Look at how far you've come!". I think I'll need this sometimes seeing as how I'm just jumping in and joining the rec team instead of doing freshmeat first (which is in November), so I am the only new skater on the team ._. Everyone else who was "new" just finished their assessments. I try not to compare myself to others, but it will happen.

My first derby practice is tomorrow night, and I really want to just get an idea of where I am now and then compare that to what I learn tomorrow, and then look back each month and see where I've gotten.

As I write this I am an absolute beginner. I've been on skates on and off now for a couple years, but I just recently discovered a local rink (before I was outdoor skating, and considering I live in NE and half our year has snow, that didn't work too well). Since I discovered the rink I have been going at least twice a week for 3-4 hours at a time. As of now I can skate forward, fall correctly, do knee touches, do 360* knee drops, plow stop effectively (just got the hang of dropping the bum xD), and t-stop.

I think I will see a huge improvement after my new skates come in. I'm currently on Viper M1 skates and they're ridiculously stiff and keep me from doing sharp turns and the like, so transitions and skating backwards have been difficult. They're also very bulky and hard to lift. When I tried on my new skates I noticed that this will no longer be a problem, so hopefully crossovers will be a little easier.